You Are Not What you Did..

1 Corinthians 10:13 NLT The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.”

I wish I had known this growing up! That first sentence out of this verse is so relieving! I want to be real in this blog, and I want to be able to express my experiences in life in hopes that maybe they’ll be helpful to someone else. 

I have struggled, like everybody else has struggled, when it comes to temptation. Messing up! Making mistakes! Bumping our heads! You can call it whatever you would like really.. But we’ve all been through it.

Growing up as a young girl in a world where sex is so profoundly sold almost everywhere was not easy and even as an adult it’s still not any easier. We were told what was cool and what was not. And we were preached at about saving our virginity for our wedding night. 

But I know plenty of women who were taught the same thing and just wasn’t able to follow through. I’m sure that maybe these mistakes still try to eat a lot of women up from the inside out. But please know that our mistakes do not define who we are. God does not say that once you give into temptation that you’re done for. 

He tells us to get back up. Some of us had our innocence taken. That’s not your fault. Some of us grew up to believe that if we didn’t fulfill a young mans desire in that way then we were garbage. This is not why God created you. 

I remember believing that I was damaged goods because someone took something away from me at an early age. I remember feeling the desire for sexual attention but not understanding why and feeling so ashamed of how I felt and how I dealt with it. 

Finding out that I wasn’t the only one who battled with these feelings and insecurities made my life all the more easier to live. There was hope. God wasn’t angry with me and He was never ashamed of me. There was and is no disgust in His voice when He talks with me and I want you women, and men, to know this to.

You have been fearfully and wonderfully made. Don’t ever take yourself for granted. Whatever it is you battle with, God will be there every step of the way, in order to get you the the other side.

Leave a Reply

